Higher and Higher

written 12/9

One of the tenants of the way that 2Seeds operates is that it stresses growth and professional development for its PCs. This was one of the reasons that I was really attracted to this program- I feel that I still have so much to learn, both about the world and about how to be effective at accomplishing the things I set out to do.

Yesterday we had our first quarter feedback session- we had aggregated feedback from Sam and Ana, our partner, our mentors, and another PC. We then each, after looking at our feedback, had a conversation with Sam and Ana about it and how we can work on improving for the next quarter. I was really dreading this experience as I have constantly felt that Sam and Ana were disappointed in me, so I thought it was just going a conversation in which I sat there and was told I need to do better and try harder.

However, I was incredibly surprised at the honesty, willingness to listen, and genuine concern that Sam and Ana brought to the conversation. It ended up being a really good talk in which I think we both discussed our relationship in a very real way and eventually got to a point where we were on the same wavelength and they gave me some feedback that I feel was really worthwhile.

Right now I’m just filled with a lot of hope about where this year will go. Up until fairly recently I’ve been very aware of how valuable this experience has been for me (despite all my struggles I know that I have been learning through each one), but it hasn’t been that much fun. I think things are starting to turn a corner in which our project is really getting underway, Ashley and I are becoming better partners for each other, and I think Sam & Ana and I are on the road to develop mutual trust and admiration. (As always, the other PCs are fabulous and I continue to love them more the more I get to know them.) I think this year will be not only the growing and learning experience it has always been, but also a really enjoyable experience.

2 thoughts on “Higher and Higher

  1. Each time I read your blog (and I read it each time) I read about your growth and professional development, as well as personal development. I think you are doing incredibly well. I admire your willingness to deal with your stresses and obstacles head on. I admire your willingness to learn about how others live and think by immersing yourself in another way of being and allowing yourself a different perspective of life in order to improve the lives (at least nutritionally) of others. I think that one improves others when one improves oneself, as we are actually all one. Your actions demonstrate your caring. You walk your talk even when it is difficult. I am so pleased that you are feeling hopeful about the future. I wish you joy in your work and in all your life.

  2. Pingback: Higher and Higher | The Tabora Project

Leave a comment